Tape Delight

My dad gave me an old Revox A77 reel tape recorder as a birthday present. He found it at a local flea market somewhere at the countryside at Funen. He asked if he could buy it for 50 dkk (10 us dollars!). The lady said: “Well, why not”. “I don’t know what the heck it is!”.

Revox A77

Revox A77

It worked fine – he had to customize a power cable, though – the plug is an old format. It is only a two track recorder, but hey: “Less is more”. Here is my first test on the Revox. I tried to be pure analog. Therefore I used my Danelectro guitar and the Vox amp.

Vox and Danelectro

Vox and Danelectro

Here’s the result:

Revox test song

I also made a little tape glitch tune with the rec-pause-rec tip from the dust breeding blog:

Revox_glitch

This entry was posted in Gear and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tape Delight

  1. Martin says:

    Really nice sounds… and wow… your pictures are not upside down!

  2. marc says:

    so beautiful!
    nice work.

  3. Rasmus says:

    Thanks marc! Yes it came out pretty good, but I must admit I find your rec-play-rec better – more atmospheric! 😉

    As a little bonus info, I can say that I exaggerate the tape flutter and wow effect by “punching” the tape gently while playing. Otherwise it would have been less tape-like.

  4. Martin says:

    Rockin that flange eh?…. I think that’s actually where flanging got it’s name from. Doubling a recording onto another tape recorder and putting ones palm on the ‘flange’ of one tape recorder to slow it down in comparison to the first recorder.

Leave a Reply

