Stereo dictaphone tape glitch

I really liked Rasmuses revox tape glitch, and the compositions that came from it. So I went ahead and copied him…. with a few modifications of course (truth be told, I linked Raz to the dust breeding blog, so I’m actually just copying Mr. Marc 😉

I used 2 dictaphones, a Sansula kalimba and voice.
dictaphone glitch setup

Since the dictaphones only have build-in speakers, I re-recorded the improvisation in the bathroom binaurally using a couple of DPA mics in my ears with the Zoom H4. Messing with the stereo perspective by flailing wildly with the dictaphones.
dictafone glitch binaural recorded
Lastly I tried to tame the rather loud rec-clicking noise… which I completely failed at, and instead decided to just smash the recording with Audio Damages Rough Rider

This entry was posted in Gear and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Stereo dictaphone tape glitch

  1. Haukur says:

    Sounds like you’re in a bubble-bath on board a train.

    Very nice 🙂

  2. Rasmus says:

    Sounds bubbletastic!!! Not much left of the tape and rec-pause-rec effect, though…

  3. Martin says:

    Yeah, it came out mainly just white noise and bubbles…. strange ingredients though

Leave a Reply

